About us

TOPFIT is a strategic open innovation consortium whose partner organizations in and from the Eastern Netherlands operate as pacesetters in the Eastern Dutch healthcare innovation ecosystem and as a hub in the Northern European field of technological and social innovation. The founders in 2018 were Radboudumc, Radboud University, WUR and UT with the support of both Provinces of Overijssel and Gelderland and van Oost NL. 
The TOPFIT consortium now has a growing number of members, with hospitals, universities of applied sciences and vocational training institutes joining to realize the joint social and economic mission and strategy. There is collaboration with regional prevention clusters such as Vital Twente, Community of care Gelderland Midden, GROZzerdam Deventer in which citizen initiatives, municipalities, welfare parties and companies participate.

TOPFIT operates with administrative support from ThinkEast as one of the two “icon projects” under the strategic banner Concepts for a Healthy Life of the East region to realize strategic impact, primarily for citizens and organizations active in the East Netherlands.

As a Northern European region, this part of the country has a unique combination of citizen initiatives (citizen science), scientific knowledge and the business climate in the field of (medical) technology, health and behavior.

TOPFIT is not a separate legal entity, but acts on behalf of the collaborating partners.

Watch video

Play Video



In an open innovation community of 150 researchers, health professionals, companies and citizen initiatives, there is a light organizational structure for program management: A steering committee, an executive committee and a program council (from mission program leaders and advisors from the supporting stakeholders)

Board of directors

Prof. dr. ir. Nico Verdonschot

University of Twente

Prof. dr. Lutgarde Buydens

Radboud University

Prof. dr. Jan Smit


Dr. Raoul Bino

Wageningen University and Research

John van der Vegt

ROC van Twente

Anka Mulder

Saxion University of Applied Sciences

Sophia de Rooij


Hilde Dijstelbloem


Wim van Harten


Rob Verhofstad


Victor van der Chijs


Mark van Houdenhoven

Sint maartenskliniek

Management Team

Remke Burie

Universiteit Twente

Pim Assendelft


Hans Vossensteyn

Saxion University of Applies Sciences

Marc Rinkes

Rijnstate Hospital

Nathalie Bovy


Nico Verdonschot

University of Twente

Ben Kokkeler